Monday, May 31, 2010

Teddy's 9th Birthday!

We spent Teddy's birthday up at the Grand Canyon!  The boys had never been, so it seemed like a pretty fun birthday activity!  Above is the sign at the entrance to the park.  Of course, I had to stop and take the obligitory picture!!



Teddy was amazed by his first view of the Canyon.  He couldn't believe it when we told him that this was only a part of it that we were looking at! Truly amazing! 

I love this picture...I think it shows just how HUGE it is, compared to the people standing above it.  Ted and I were able to pick out the trails we hiked a few years ago when we did our Rim to Rim hike.  I can't wait until the boys are old enough to hike down, camp and hike out.  What a fun adventure that will be!

Not sure what we're going to do to top this next year!

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Swim...Bike...Run...


MAY 16th, 2010
Yup...that's me in the pool, finishing up my 300 yd swim in my first ever Triathlon!  What I thought would be the hardest part of the Tri ended up being the easiest!  I guess my days of Laurel Pond and John Jay came back to help me out! The swim was the least tiring of the three events for me.
So...here's me after a 15.4 mile bike...and yes, you are seeing correctly...I'm on a mountain bike.  I'm sure all the seasoned triathletes were secretly laughing as they swept past me, some lapping me twice!  But that's okay.  Lesson learned.  Next time, I'll be fixing up the racing bike that's been hanging in our garage for the past 7 or so years, untouched!  Ted bought it when he was thinking about triathlons, but those thoughts were apparently lost for a while.  Anyhow, I finished the bike...not an impressive time or anything, but I finished. 

Ahhh...the finish line! It was a great feeling to cross that line, knowing I'd done the whole thing!  The run wasn't hard, but it was tough after the bike.  I'll do more brick training next time around!

My disappointment from not being able to compete in the April Tri has been washed away.  It was so worth the wait!

Not sure when I'll be doing another one...it's a bit hot to do these here in Phoenix in the summer.  But come fall, maybe I'll do the Seville Tri again!

300 yd Swim: 6:20
15.4 m Bike: 1:02:01
2 m      Run: 16:08

Monday, May 10, 2010

Desert Dawgs

Teddy was recently invited to play for a new baseball team called the Desert Dawgs.  It's made up of players from different teams in his regular East Valley league, as well as some others.  Last night was their first "game"...a scrimmage, actually.  They played against possibly the best 9U team in Arizona, the Sandlot.  It was a tough game, but the team held it's own against stiff competition. 

I love the uniforms!!  I was a little anxious about the white pants...they might never be this white again.  But the blue against the white just looks outstanding!  He had a great time playing last night.  He played center field for most of the game.
Notice the red cleats...well, he wanted the red ones this spring because they match his Outlaw uniform...his uniform for this team is blue...so I see some new cleats in his future!!

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Baseball continues...

It seems that we are forever playing baseball!  I might gripe about it sometimes, but secretly (or not so!) I love being able to go to the field and cheer on my boys!  Teddy's team, the Outlaws, are having a great season.  There have been a lot of close games and nailbiters!  Teddy can usually be found either in center field (where he made a great catch the other night!) or at 2nd base. 


Ryan's team, the Dodgers, moved up a division this season, and they have found some stiffer competition than last season!  But they are pulling through and winning some games, too.  Ryan loves to play first base and catcher, but dreams of someday being a star left-handed pitcher:-)


Okay...so I'm a proud baseball mom!  The games are getting harder and harder to watch as they get more competitive.  I'm the mom jumping out of her seat as her son makes a great play or scores a run.  I know, I know...don't embarrass them!  But both boys claim that they can't hear me yelling when they're on the field.  Guess that's a good thing!

First Communion and Confirmation!

I can't believe that Teddy is almost 9!  On April 17th, he received his First Holy Commnunion AND Confirmation, all in the same day!  It seems strange to most of us, I know, as we didn't receive Confirmation until we were in 8th grade or above!  But Teddy took the whole thing very seriously and made Mom and Dad proud!  He looked all grown up in his suit and tie, though he couldn't wait to get it off afterwards and trade it in for his baseball uniform!
Uncle Mike, his godfather, was Teddy's Confirmation sponsor.  We were so thankful that the family could be together for this speical day! Mike brought TJ and Maria with him...we missed Yvette and Trevor!  Kevin, Kerrie and Kyle flew in for the festivities, as well! 
Barb and Elizabeth were able to get away for a long weekend, too!  And my mom, dad, Nanny and Aunt Mary were all able to come out to celebrate with us!  Luckily, my mom found a large house to rent for the week, so we had plenty of space for everyone. 

We couldn't have asked for better weather, either.  It was sunny and not too hot the whole weekend! 
Now we're looking forward to seeing all the cousins again for our annual trek to Cape Cod!