Thursday, May 27, 2010

Swim...Bike...Run...


MAY 16th, 2010
Yup...that's me in the pool, finishing up my 300 yd swim in my first ever Triathlon!  What I thought would be the hardest part of the Tri ended up being the easiest!  I guess my days of Laurel Pond and John Jay came back to help me out! The swim was the least tiring of the three events for me.
So...here's me after a 15.4 mile bike...and yes, you are seeing correctly...I'm on a mountain bike.  I'm sure all the seasoned triathletes were secretly laughing as they swept past me, some lapping me twice!  But that's okay.  Lesson learned.  Next time, I'll be fixing up the racing bike that's been hanging in our garage for the past 7 or so years, untouched!  Ted bought it when he was thinking about triathlons, but those thoughts were apparently lost for a while.  Anyhow, I finished the bike...not an impressive time or anything, but I finished. 

Ahhh...the finish line! It was a great feeling to cross that line, knowing I'd done the whole thing!  The run wasn't hard, but it was tough after the bike.  I'll do more brick training next time around!

My disappointment from not being able to compete in the April Tri has been washed away.  It was so worth the wait!

Not sure when I'll be doing another one...it's a bit hot to do these here in Phoenix in the summer.  But come fall, maybe I'll do the Seville Tri again!

300 yd Swim: 6:20
15.4 m Bike: 1:02:01
2 m      Run: 16:08

1 comment:

  1. Wish we could have been there for the big event. I'm glad Ted took pictures.
    We are very proud of you : )

    ReplyDelete